Awards & Grants
Download award application info here.
  • Nomination procedures are being revised.
Link to download.
  • ----------------
Papers Due     
      Jan. 9, 2016. 

Awards & Grants from the Midwest Sociological Society:

  • gives awards in several categories of professional service and scholarship, 
  • sponsors an annual student paper competition with six cash prizes,
  • offers small grants to support research by MSS members, 
  • and provides travel grants to members who are students or adjunct/contingent faculty attending the MSS annual meeting.

Download procedural rules and regulations below.  Questions?
Contact the executive office by email.
Competitive Awards for Professionals:
  • Annual Jane Addams Outstanding Service Award
  • Biennial The Sociological Quarterly Award*
  • Annual Distinguished Book Award
  • Biennial Early Career Scholarship Award** 
Grants for Professionals:
  • Grants to Support Visiting Scholars/Researchers
  • Grants for Research  
  • Annual Meeting Travel Grants for Adjunct/Contingent Faculty   
Competitive Awards for Students:
  • Student Paper Competition

Grants for Students:
Annual Meeting Travel Grants for StudentsApplication Deadline:  March 1, 2016    
See application guidelines at student page.

Opportunities from Other Groups:

Occasionally, announcements about professional positions, awards, or opportunities are sent to us by other groups. These are posted at the Jobs & Opportunities page.
Did you  know.......??

  • Last year, MSS gave more than $28,000 in grants and awards to MSS members.
  • A history of the professional award winners is here:  past winners.
Grants for Grass-Roots Organizations in Support of Social Action:

MSS also awards two $1000 grants each year to nonprofit organizations doing grassroots work in pursuit of social justice and social change in the MSS geographical area.

Nomination deadline, Dec. 1, 2015.                               Download pdf.
*The Sociological Quarterly Award is awarded at the annual meeting in years ending in an odd number:  2015, 2017, 2019, etc.

**The Early Career Scholarship Award is given at the annual meeting in years ending in an even number.  2016, 2048, 2020, etc.

Due dates for nominations
  • Nov. 1, 2015
  • Nov. 15, 2016
  • Oct. 31, 2015
  • Nov. 15, 2015
Applications Due
  • SUSPENDED 2015-16.
  • Jan. 15 - Feb. 15 only
  • Feb. 15, 2016
 Link to download.           
   paper competition guidelines

​MSS Distinguished Book Award Past Winners

2015 - Blue Juice:  Euthanasia in Veterinary Medicine
Temple University
Dr. Patricia Morris, Drury University

2014 - Lincoln, Inc: Selling the Sixteenth President in Contemporary America
Rowman and Littlefield
Dr. Jackie Hogan, Bradley University

2013-- The Paradox of Youth Violence
Lynne Rienner Publishers
Dr. J. William "Jack" Spencer, Purdue University

Honorable mention - The Tender Cut 
New York University Press
Dr. Patricia A. Adler, University of Colorado, and Dr. Peter Adler, University of Denver

2012— Behind the Backlash: Muslim Americans after 9/11
Temple University Press
Dr. Lori Peek, Colorado State University

2011— Counted Out: Same-Sex Relations and Americans’ Definitions of Family
Russell Sage Foundation. 
Dr. Brian Powell, Indiana University, Dr. Catherine Bolzendahl, University of California-Irvine, Dr. Claudia Geist, University of Utah, and Dr. Lala Carr Steelman, University of South Carolina

2010— Deliverance and Submission: Evangelical Women and the Negotiation of Patriarchy in South Korea 
Harvard University Asia Center 
Dr. Kelly Chong, University of Kansas

2009—Wannabes, Goths, and Christians: The Boundaries of Sex, Style, and Status
University of Chicago Press 
Dr. Amy Wilkins, University of Colorado-Boulder

2009 - Postindustrial Peasants: The Illusion of Middle-Class Prosperity 
Worth Publishers 
Dr. Kevin Leicht, Indiana University & Dr. Scott Fitzgerald, University of North Carolina-Charlotte

2008 - Black Intimacies: A Gender Perspective on Families and Relationships
Altamira Press
Dr. Shirley A. Hill, University of Kansas

MSS The Sociological Quarterly Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Award Past Winners

2015-- No award.

2013— Dr. Aaron M. McCright, Michigan State University, and Dr. Riley E. Dunlap, Oklahoma State University, for their article, "The Politicalization of Climate Change and Polarization in the American Public's Views of Global Warming, 2001-2010," published in Vol. 52 (Spring, 2011): 155-94

2011— Dr. Steven H. Lopez, Dr. Randy Hodson, and Dr. Vincent Roscigno, all of Ohio State University, for their article, “Power, Status, and Abuse at Work: General and Sexual Harassment Compared” 

2009— Dr. Danny Kaplan, Bar Ilan University, for his article, “Folk Models of Dyadic Male Bonds in Israeli Culture”

MSS Early Career Scholarship Award Past Winners

2014—Dr. Mary E Campbell, Texas A & M University
2012—Dr. ChangHwan Kim, University of Kansas & Dr. Melissa Walls, University of Minnesota Medical School-Duluth 
2010— Dr. Scott Harris, Saint Louis University
2008— Dr. Jennifer Dunn, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale & Dr. Doug Hartmann, University of Minnesota

MSS Departmental Award for Teaching Excellence Past Winners

2010— Sociology Department of Macalester College
2009— Sociology Department of Augsburg College 

MSS Jane Addams Outstanding Service Award Past Winners

2015--Betty Edwards, Founder, Human Trafficking Task Force of Southern Colorado
2014—Dr. Susan Haworth-Hoeppner, Aquinas College, for her work with Girls Empowering Together
2013-- Mytoan Nguyen Akbar, University of Wisconsin Madison, for her work with the Telling Our Stories Across Generations Project 
2012—Dr. Meg Wilkes Karraker, University of St. Thomas for her activism on behalf of women and girls
2011—Dr. Andrea Nichols, St. Louis Community College, for her tireless efforts to empower women economically and furthering the study of domestic violence and improving policy
2010— Dr. Ellen Kennedy, University of Minnesota, for finding and directing the Genocide Intervention Network of Minnesota and work with the Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies at the University of Minnesota.
2009— Dr. Pamela Forman, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, for working with elementary-aged girls, service to the University of Wisconsin, and her support of the LGBT community in Eau Claire.
2008— Dr. Kathryn Ward, Southern Illinois University-Carbondale, for service with women and girls in Bangladesh and for her teaching and research. 
2007— Dr. Martha Thompson, Northeastern Illinois University, for her work in the community to empower women and her teaching of feminism and gender at Northeastern Illinois University.

sample cover page               sample paper
About MSSAnnual MeetingsAwards & GrantsCommitteesJobs & OpportunitiesMembershipNEWSPublicationsRelated GroupsStudents

1613 College Ct Pl
Iowa City, IA  52245
Phone MSS   319.338.5247
Email MSS 
MSS home page

2016 Annual Meeting LINKS